Transitoire

By Transitoire

Ce n'est qu'un au revoir

Today was spent packing with my parents, and there was a lot to pack...for two reasons: one, I am a girl (need I say more?) and two, I have been in Caen over seven months and things just accumulate! After Dad had done everything he needed to, he settled down to watch a film (I know, sounds lazy, but he knows better than to get in the way of two Avery women in a packing frenzy!). Things were done a lot quicker than expected, and we were soon able to head to the supermarket to stock up on booze. I know, stereotypical English, but when you can get a six bottle box of Merlot for ten euros...well, you do the maths! A quick run to chez Coloc' followed to drop off the stuff for the party, but also a lot of things that I won't be taking with me. So they are now proud owners of a toaster, a lamp, five cushions and assorted cleaning fluids! Well there was no point us keeping them! Was a bit of a stress trying to find a car parking space when Dad has such a big car, but we managed and then my parents and I headed off so I could show them Abbaye aux Hommes and the Mairie. I think they were impressed!

After a quick change around at the hotel, we then headed out for my final meal in Caen at the Galleterie with Becky, Kendra and Thomas. Lovely meal as ever, and the service impeccable (unusual in French restaurants!). Becky, Thomas, Kendra and I did get some funny looks however when we left my parents to finish off their bottle of wine and wandered off without paying the bill. My parent's treat of course! Although late for my own party, I was not worried as the time you write on the start of an événement in France means the actual starting time is a few hours later! True to form, everyone started arriving half an hour later on the dot than the time mentioned on the invite. Now I have to say, it was one of the best evenings that I have had here in Caen, the people were lovely, the number of people was perfect, everyone knew each other (or at least did by the end of the night!) and things were just wonderful. This picture is of some of those people; Pierre, Bertrand, Thomas, Clémentine and Shwetabh. I did almost cry quite a few times but I managed to keep it in...although at one point when I was given yet another thoughtful and lovely present I genuinely could not find the words to express the emotions I was feeling, and I think if I had tried I would have burst into quite undignified tears! Anyhows, I'm not going to blab on too much about the people that I have met here, but there are some things that just can't not be said. When I arrived in Caen I had no idea about just how close I would get to my friends, what amazing times I would have with them. I had no idea at the number of the people that I've met that I want to stay friends for life with. I had no idea that I could ever express myself so well in a second language to have people actually like me, and love them back in return. When I say that I am stuck between two places, and can never decide between them...I don't care, because what I get back from it are wonderful, loving, kind, funny, interesting, amazing friends that I couldn't see myself living without now. So Caen, you sly dog, making me fall in love with you over and over again...I am really going to miss you.

Now everyone talks about their Erasmus song when they leave, I am lucky...I somehow have managed to collect three (I can't narrow it down any more, honestly!):-
1. The Lumineers; Ho, Hey. Without fail this song has been playing in all the bars whenever I have coffee with friends, and it will forever remind me of those times.
2. Granville; Jersey. I heard this song for the first time in Flavie's car with Thibaud, Thomas and Pierre...and it stuck in my head ever since. Luckily it is rather popular in France, so I also associate it with many evenings in, and out.
3. Macklemore; Thrift Shop. This is that nightclub song...always playing at every night out, so much so that everyone knows the words and there is also somehow a little dance to accompany it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.