Life is Bizarre

This morning I learned that my cousin John Clauser is one of three physicists who are sharing the 2022 Nobel Prize in physics. He is the son of my father’s sister. What is bizarre is that in 1951 my dad also received the Nobel Prize, his in chemistry for discovering the first man-made element, Neptunium, and co-discovering Plutonium. Add to that the fact my mother’s sister was married to Earnest Lawrence, who also won a Nobel Prize in physics in 1939, you get how my head is spinning right now. I am so proud of them all. And I recognize my amazing good fortune to be born into such an amazing family. Dad and Uncle Earnest received their awards together in 1951 because the war made it impossible for Earnest to go Europe in 1939. So my mother and her sister both went to Stockholm with their prize winning husbands.

https://amp.cnn.com/cnn/2022/10/04/europe/nobel-prize-physics-winner-2022-intl-scn/index.html

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.