Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

Bus Stop Encounter

Waiting for a bus on market day, I noticed a tall young man sitting on my left. He looked pensive, almost sad, and I could tell by his garments that things were not okay in his world.

I touched him lightly on the arm. He turned and I simply said: "You look sad." He told me that it wasn't the case, but he was  dreaming. He had the most marvellous blue eyes and my heart went out to him because I felt sadness emanating from him. I asked him if he wasn't too hot as the day is warm and his clothes were incredibly warm. He said not, but that he was impatient for his bus to arrive - which it did, before mine arrived. So I told him "goodbye" as he left the bench and he turned towards me with sadness in his smile but eyes that still held some hope in their depth.

I have an annual bus ticket and so wished I had got on the same bus as him (which was more or less going my way). I wanted to hear his story and help, if I could, even just by listening.

I will be looking out for him all the time now - especially as I know his bus number.  If we are destined to meet, I know that we shall do so.

It would have been disrespectful to ask the young man for a photo, but I took a shot of Lausanne Cathedral with the leaves changing colour. This is the view from the bus stop. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.