Residents

I got a telephone call from the local police station yesterday asking me to go in and confirm my identity and address according to my residency permit, which worried me until I learned that Kat and Graham also got the same phone call.  I couldn't go there and then, so Graham drove me in this morning, having gone through the same process himself yesterday. It took about three minutes to show the very pleasant and polite officials what they wanted to see.  By way of explanation they told me that this new procedural formality has arisen because there is some deception going on in Turkey where foreigners are registering in one province but actually living in another whose authorities have already said they can't/won't take any more non nationals as permanent residents.  I find this interesting as the country strives to keep a balance of citizens and 'others' in the various provinces, and the ingenuity of people who want to live in the most popular areas that have been declared "full". 

Once home I spent the entire afternoon and well in to the evening sewing, having set up a 'sewing centre' in my second bedroom until I realized around 8pm that I was hungry!  So I had a meal and then went to see Claire for a couple of hours. 

The ailment that started bothering me yesterday persists, and by the evening I am quite croaky. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.