Richard P

By ricky_p

Edinburgh Police Boxes

I've found a great geocache that will keep me busy whilst I try to keep my daily streak going. I need to find 60 of these old style police boxes. 142 boxes were were originally installed  in 1933.  They were designed by City Architect Ebenezer MacRae

The boxes used to have sirens on the top and were used by police officers to phone in to the station with a note of where they were and perhaps get instructions on what they might do next.

I believe that most were installed with access to a tap which is why many now have been converted into coffee shops. This one here in Grassmarket though is an ice cream stand.

When I find 15, 30 and 60 boxes, I will get the coordinates of a geocache. I have mapped out where I think all the current boxes are I think there are only around 70 left standing located all round the city so it may take me a while to record them all

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.