Melisseus

By Melisseus

Chance and Uncertainty

Lucky me that my neighbour keeps a holly, a variegated maple, a smoke tree and a magnolia. Without any planning when we bought our house or built our extension or placed a sofa in it, I can take my after-breakfast cup of tea, sit in comfort and look out on this tableau, that I do not even have to maintain

It's our Cotoneaster, and I built the wall under it. Even that has worked out with pleasing colours - notwithstanding that the stones were chosen for size and shape, not artistic effect. The bulging wall below the holly has been on the point of no return for some years - maybe the winter wind and rain will be the final push. Even the Bank of England seems to agree that "a little turbulence" can lead to a total collapse

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.