neilnewson

By neilnewson

The Stars Are Out

Guess where we were?

No? Give up? David Bowie Is (at the V&A) superb. The audio commentary was great - headsets that picked up remote sensors and played the appropriate audio link. Brilliant idea as it really adds to the experience having Bowie tracks playing as if you had your ipod on whilst interspersed with voice over commentaries linking directly to screen performances, interviews and comment on exhibits. Occasionally as I wandered round the links dropped out leaving me dancing around trying to get the automatic headset commentary to pick up and stay picked up - I had Howard Goodall popping up intermittently and his comments never lasted more than a sentence or two before... Several times I caught myself looking ridiculous as I started to dancing to tracks I know only too well. Fortunately looking around everybody else was in the same boat - not only that the tracks were synched meaning a strange comradery developed when you realise you are listening to the appropriate track for the location when you catch four other people playing air drums or mouthing words. Relax.

This photo was one of my favourite as Day Of The Diva says (sorry don't know how to insert a link on iPhone) there were no photos in the exhibition itself but I tried to get Anna to mimic Bowies image on the shop window she couldn't help smiling.

Favourite bit? The 9meter high screens in the middle showing concert footage that fared to reveal costumes from the shows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.