Cygnus

By Cygnus

Mercado

The Mercado Central de Atarazanas, to be exact. I was very keen to visit this market as I thought that the ‘atarazanas’ bit equated to artisans and that this included a craft market. It turned out to be food only, but what food! Lots of different types of wonderful fruit and vegetables, fish (very exotic looking) and meat. The various hams were amazing, and cut straight from the bone in wafer-fine slices.

I also visited the Picasso museum, which was quite good, but I wouldn’t rave about it. Apparently his best works are not here, but I was very pleased with myself when confronted with a cubist melange to recognise a head. Success!

We’ve been to different restaurants each day, but haven’t found anything really good yet. The best choice so far was on the first night. Tonight I was determined to have paella, and I did enjoy the seafood offering, but it was quite dry (is it meant to be?) and the prawns were overcooked and a bit tough. The little squids were sweet and delicious though - the best bit!

Now back in hotel resting and blipping. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.