Sebulon

By sebrose

BCS Edinburgh is back

I’m up at 5:45. Angus drives off to tree planting in his shiny silver Beamer. I take his Jimny back home and finish processing the beans. I unpack the jars, having belatedly remembered that the induction hob doesn’t work with the aluminium pressure canner. They get frozen instead.

I drive back, through the morning rush hour, arriving in time for an interesting keynote from Steven Shorrock. Then it’s my turn. I get a reasonable turnout and some good questions. Another session and then it’s lunch - a healthy, but tiny bento box.

A siesta is in order. I wake up in time for the last session of the day, which I leave early to get to the SkyScanner offices. This is the first in-person Edinburgh branch BCS meeting since the pandemic started. We get a great turnout, all the pizza gets eaten, and the talk is really engaging.

Next stop Rubas, where twenty or so conference attendees are waiting for their curries (extra). I join them, ordering a beer, and have great conversations with Dan and Ceri and others. After food, we pop over the road to the Grosvenor for a final drink, before walking back via Castle Terrace and the Meadows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.