Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Callan Park

I took Maggy to Callan Park today.  This used to be a hospital for the mentally ill.  I take offence at the description on Wikipedia as an insane aslymn although the title of Callan Park Hospital for the Insane I suspect was it's actual title at one stage.

The site purchased by the Colonial NSW Government in 1873 and a hospital existed it would seem in one form or another from 1878 to 2008 ish.  It's current use is governed by statute to be limited to health, tertiary education and community purposes.

It is a massive site and although you can't get into the old building unless with permission, the grounds are very popular with joggers and dog walkers.  Maggy certainly enjoyed herself

I then drove over to Ballast Point park and put Buzz up again and the extra is a panorama looking towards the city.

So while it was sunny when I was out this morning, it is now lashing down again.  More to come on the weekend.   We will all be growing moss at this rate.  And may I just add that I really dislike Sydney traffic.  Booo

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.