Beauty lies in the eyes of the (be)holder

I carried this Bay Bolete (Boletus badius) home from the woods, not wanting to damage it before I could take its picture.

It's no way as prized as its cousin B. edulis (cep) but is a good shroom to dry and use in cooking.

I've been reading about foraging and eyesight. I'm curious about the scanning process required. Rather than peering closely at the ground in a methodical, searching way it seems to me that I sweep my eyes over an area  and only focus on a point when my brain tells me there is something to be seen i.e.when something catches my sight and alerts me. I suspect it's the same process that is required for scanning a page, an index or a screen for  mistakes or references. You don't need to read every word to spot what you're looking for.

(Apropos of this I was quite chuffed to solve the puzzle of Tivoli's mystery object a few days ago by using a 'reverse image scan'. Maybe that's what I'm doing in the woods.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.