YellowBalloon

By YellowBalloon

Children's Comics & Teen Magazines

This is me at aged 5 reading my comic.  I have always been a fan of comics, teen magazines and even as I have grown older I still like to treat myself to magazine now and then.

It started of with 'Jack & Jill' and one called 'Playhour.'  I then moved on to 'The Beano,' 'The Topper,' etc.  Names like Dennis The Menace, Minnie The Mix and Beryl The Peril will live in my memory for ever.

Following this I moved onto 'The Judy' and my sister got 'The Bunty.'  The newsagent delivered them to our house every week.  I was quite jealous of my sister getting 'The Bunty' as it had a cut out doll and clothes for her on the back page every week.

Next it was the teen magazines.  I think most of my pocket money went on these.  I was mad keen on music so loved things like 'The New Musical Express', 'Disc,'  'Rave,' etc.  However my very favourite magazines were things like 'Jackie' (apparently named after the children's author Jaqueline Wilson) and 'Petticoat.'  I loved the fashion, make up tips and pulling out photos of my favourite pop star to put on my bedroom wall.  Best of all I loved the problem pages - Cathy and Claire (who did not exist in real life and the readers letters were answered by various people who worked on the magazine  over the years including a man) and Claire Raynor who gave good down to earth advice.  

A few weeks ago my sister and I met our two cousins and their granddaughters aged 7 and 14.  We decided to take a comic for each of the girls.  There was no trouble getting one for the 7 year old - a great choice - but I could not find anything for the 14 year old.  I was in WH Smith's and I asked a member of staff.  She had a look but couldn't find anything so rang someone only to be told that they no longer keep magazines for teenagers.  I guess phones have taken over so there must not be the demand but I found it really sad that they are no longer around.  Reading my comics and teen mags were a big and happy part of growing up for me.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.