Flying Tonight!

Well, not quite but the title did make me smile thinking of Kenneth Williams disappearing beneath the boiling wax in "Carry on Screaming" shouting "FRYING TONIGHT"    :-)
The steel rods arrived on Wednesday. I drilled small holes at one end to take those circular, springy, key rings to which I can attach the flags with re-usable cable ties.
The left one looks a little higher but, of course, the bike is on the side stand so leaning over to the right.
I've left one bare so you can see I've also sprayed them black. I should have ordered stainless steel rods, as my last ones were, but didn't occur to me that I was ordering mild steel. It means they would rust if they got wet, which they certainly will do at some time.
I'm pretty confident I will not have a re-occurrence of last Saturdays flag failure!
It occurred to me that I could also add my 'Royal British Legion Riders' pennant to the carrier. Been trying to find a solution for that for a long time. There's really nowhere to attach it to on the Sportster,
If anyone wants to see what happened, you can view my problem;
Here - https://youtu.be/NdeGPlftpLs?t=569

My Friend, David Thomas from Stroud, had the same problem a short time later;
Here - https://youtu.be/NdeGPlftpLs?t=720
Watch for a short while and you'll actually see his fall!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.