A Dog's Dinner

By G

The making of the mayo....

Today we decided that bought mayonnaise was no longer acceptable. From this weekend this classic of cold sauces will only be consumed if it's made by our own fair hands.

So, being a bit of a fanboy for Felicity Cloake, I set about making her 'perfect mayonnaise' and it was .....perfect!

Which brings me to another, not unrelated point. When did we start saying 'mayo'? Are our lives so busy that we can't afford the extra second it takes to add the '...aise' at the end. I believe this is a vulgar Americanism which needs to be halted before it goes the way of 'movies' and beer from the bottle and becomes the new standard.

I'm in the City of the Angels next week, I shall use the opportunity to reverse this trend and insist on 'mayonnaise' at every turn and demand a clean glass with my
beer. So there!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.