The Pride of Edinburgh

Martin and I visited the Born Free Forever pride of lions in the Meadows today. The exhibition is in honour of what would have been the 100th Birthday of Bill Travers MBE, it exhibition is celebrating Born Free’s co-founder’s life and work by designating 2022 as Born Free’s Year of the Lion. Featuring 25 stunning life-size, bronze lion sculptures, to raise awareness and vital funds for lions through the Forever Lions Fund, set up in Bill's memory. 

The lion in my blip is of Elsa, who became world famous as the real life inspiration for Joy Adamson’s autobiographical book Born Free (1960) and the subsequent film adaptation starring actors and Born Free Co-Founders Virginia McKenna and Bill Travers (1966), which sparked their passion for wildlife conservation.

Here’s a link to Born Free’s website, where you can get more information on their amazing work to save both lions as well as other endangered wild animals:    

https://www.bornfree.org.uk/

My extra is, poignantly of Cecil, who was brutally killed by a trophy hunter in 2015. I remember reading about this and being so upset. At the time, I wished this so called ‘human’ the very worst, and I still do … I hope she has had a miserable life dies thoroughly unhappy.

My strongest feelings are always to do with animals and their mistreatment, be it a domestic cat or a lion.

Thank you for listening … I hope you are having a nice weekend. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.