Rain

I seemed to be up and down the hill all day, sorting out various things in town between deliveries to the flat. I was glad that Roam had to come over and was able to save me from a double drenching. The rain feels like such a novelty after this incredibly dry summer and early autumn. I think I enjoyed it more than most. 

E came over with tickets for the opening event of the Ilkley Literature Festival, Ian McMillan performing at the King's Hall, reading from his recently published memoir, My Sand Life, My Pebble Life. As always, he was wonderfully entertaining. His prose sounds like poetry when he delivers it, interspersed with many asides. He made an hour of storytelling look effortless. I'm sure he prepares extremely well to create the illusion of spontaneity. He's brilliant at what he does.

It was nice to get my hands on a copy of the book and open it from the back to see my name credited on the jacket for Ian's photograph. He loved my portrait of him and the publisher used a colour version. A tiny little thing but it's given me quite a buzz.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.