‘I love you, I really do!’

May’s words to my mum, at the end of our visit to her nursing home. ‘And I love you, too!’, replied Mum, summing up the depth of their over seventy-year friendship (the backstory is in the blip link below when we took them out for lunch nine years ago). Between them they have 189 years of life experience, which will become 190 years in two months time when Mum turns ninety-seven.

It was a happy time in the sun-lit conservatory of a homely care residence, Lizdean in Kilmarnock, thirty miles from Mum’s apartment in Largs.  May takes a little time to recall faces or names but then some things click into focus and we could reminisce about family times together and their late husbands, her girl-like laugh and lovely voice still very much present. I sent some photos to her only son, Alan, so he would have to them to hand for his visit tomorrow when he comes through from Edinburgh to see his mum and his Uncle Fred, May’s brother, who’s also still alive.

I hope we can get them together more often just so they can sit in that place of deep familiarity.

https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/3679862

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.