Reconnecting

By EcoShutterBug

Palermo Street Market

Our last four days in Sicily were spent in Palermo.  We took an early morning walk to it’s main street market. Here is the selection of the fruit, fish, meat, and nick-nack stores –a lively reflection of local foods and commerce.

My happy amble ended when one vendor apparently took exception to my photography and shouted a warning to the other vendors, maybe even abuse of me – it was hard to tell for my son and guide, because it was spoken in a Sicilian dialect that he did not understand – but it became quite clear in any language that I should desist and leave.  I am still confused about where and when it is appropriate to photograph general street scenes like these - the last thing I want to do is make people uncomfortable or feel used. I guess some people just get sick of tourists?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.