Windmill 'De Paauw', Nauerna, Assendelft

'Paauw' sounds like 'POW!' = means 'peacock'.
'Nauerna' = 'NOW-er-nah'.  Almost 'now or never'.  :DD)))

Built in 2017!  It's being used for the making of rope out of hemp.  I asked AW if the processing of weed might be involved, too?  Nope, not weed, only rope.  Drat!  :DDD))   The area was actually closed to the public, and a canal separated the part near the road from the polder beyond, and I needed to get on the polder for a frontal shot.  Now there was this fence with horizontal bars, and so I simply slipped quietly between the bars (climbing would have made me too conspicuous) and hopped onto the polder, resulting in enough frontal and panoramic shots... heaven!  That's not Teqla parked there.  I had to park elsewhere and walk here.

Fabulous weather!  I didn't leave the house at first light, though.  Among other things, there was first the tedious business of catching up with the statements of account from the Viking, plus some housekeeping.

After the mill, late in the afternoon, drove to Haarlem, but not the old centre with 'de Adriaen'.  Instead, one of the inner suburbs to meet Matthew, a fellow-MOOCker, who is interested in linguistics and history as much as I am.  He's an architectural draftsman and goes all over the country in the service of the largest supermarket chain, helping to plan and design their interiors.  We had beer, tea and cake, and exchanged personal info and several belly laughs.  It's a fun time when kindred spirits meet, ja?

Back home, AW had had his dinner, and I went up to post-process and clear the digital desk.  The cake was a lot more filling than I had thought and I did not mind skipping the evening meal.  Went to bed a bit earlier because of the 03.00 ZOOM appointment... which I'll leave for tomorrow, most likely after the hunt, if I get to go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.