paperTIGER

By papertiger

P's and Q's.

Politeness is the art of choosing among your thoughts.

-- Anne-Louise-Germaine de Stael


I've just been out for dinner with my parents and my brother for a belated birthday dinner for my mum's 65th. We went to a nice wee hotel in the outskirts of Dundee. We've been there before but it wasn't great tonight.

I think that I'm often far too patient, which came in handy tonight as the table next to us were really loud and obnoxious. I don't know what it is about some people who just don't care how they impact upon everyone around them. I was trying to tell my mum about two of my friends who are both going through cancer treatment just now and also about a boy I once taught who has been killed in a hit-and-run. And she was trying to tell me about my godfather who is about to have a very dangerous operation on his bowel cancer. Shouting the word cancer four times until my mum grasps what I'm saying whilst a woman on the next table does a Tarzan call at top-volume - practically in my ear - is not my idea of a fun time.

I don't know ... some people, hey!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.