dreams of leaving

Deliberately overdone to reflect the feelings of unreality which accompanied this photo.

I travelled overnight on the coach from London. We stopped for a "comfort break" at 0130h and 0350h and each time I stumbled out into the dark and into the neon glare of the service station, just to see if my legs were working, really. Each time, I had to wake up from a really deep sleep. I'd been using an eye mask and earplugs which really help to cut out any ambient noise and light.

When we arrived at Buchanan Street, I thought at first that it was London...but that arrival was two days ago. We had arrived in Glasgow earlier than expected and instead of waiting 3 hours for the bus to Dumfries, I caught a train to Lockerbie and then a bus and I was back in my car at just after 10am. I was surprised that there were any trains running at all, since the RMT union are taking strike action today.

Jess and the roofers were there at home to welcome me; D was at college. I had a nice leisurely day doing some housework and hanging washing out, taking Jess for a walk and processing my photos from the weekend. I have a banana cake in the oven and D has made curry so that's our tea sorted.

Back to work tomorrow :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.