A tarn on Loughrigg. Not what I’d expected to blip.

With the forecast looking good I planned a trip to Arnside. A walk along the shore and then up Arnside Knott. I made sandwiches and a flask of coffee and packed them in the car with a few other items.

I drove to the bottom of the hill and a PCSO was stopping and redirecting all traffic going south. I did a tight turn around the mini roundabout and went back home to think.

Road traffic information gave a road closure due to an accident on the one way system southbound in the village. Half an hour later and with the road still closed I made plan B . . . Keswick and a walk up Latrigg. I didn’t get far down the hill and it was stationary ahead around the sharp, narrow bend. Some vehicles (cars and vans) were being diverted over Kirkstone and struggling to pass others going down. I reversed uphill and turned while I could and went home for a second time.

Then I set off on foot towards Loughrigg. A good collection of tarns up there. The biggest I passed is in the main shot, and some smaller ones in the first extra (though one is more like a puddle but the view beyond is good). In total I counted and photographed one large, three medium, three small and a few puddles. None are named on the OS map. I’m sure some will be dry in summer.

There’s a second extra with other views.

Traffic was still being diverted when I got back. Accident investigation work was the reason being given online.

Tarnbagging #6 - Loughrigg Fell tarns

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.