Two Hundred & Eighty Four

Surprised to see this pretty little sight but it brought me a little joy on a Monday :) 


I've waited till World Mental Health Day to publicly share something. 
My fiance knows.
My mum knows.
I've told a couple of friends that I've seen face to face even though the stigma surrounding this condition told me I shouldn't. I'm sort of embarrassed to tell my brother or my dad as I'm pretty sure of the response due to the lack of understanding (not their fault) of the adult variety, and especially female variety of this condition. 
This condition wasn't on my radar at the age most people get diagnosed with it, and, as I grew older, it was definitely only considered a "naughty boy" syndrome. 
But, what started as a joke between F and myself led to a few tests being tried and a lot of questions being asked, and, in middle age, my GP has referred me for help and treatment for ADULT ADHD...anyone that knows me, knows the 'H' is mild but the ADD is rather definite. 
Of course I haven't got this far in life without managing the symptoms to a fairly good degree and finding coping strategies in the weird wide world, but having research thrust upon me, my whole life makes more sense suddenly. Especially the somewhat hellish school years.
I still have a lot more questions than answers but I have a better idea of the questions to ask! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.