The Way I See Things

By JDO

Russet

I spent a couple of hours in Trench Wood this afternoon, and although I didn't find much to trouble the shutter count, I came home more than happy with the photos my few subjects allowed me.

Best of the day was this female Common Darter, basking on a sunny tree trunk while delicately chewing someone. I find Common Darters relatively approachable, especially towards the end of their season, so I walked towards her quite confidently, and she stayed beautifully calm and allowed me to within a few inches of her. After I'd taken my photos I thanked her politely, then backed up a few careful steps before turning and walking away, to make sure that I didn't startle her and our encounter ended as relaxedly as it had begun.

By the way, on the subject of politeness, I saw some comments on social media the other day, along the lines of "Oh, that's sooo sweet!" about a macro photographer who was filmed thanking his subjects, and they made me quite irritated. I've always done this, and I don't intend to stop however amusing other people may find it, because it's a gesture of respect towards a wild creature that's allowed me to share its life-or-death existence for a short while.

Tonight's extra is a pair of alder spittlebugs (Aphrophora alni) in cop. I'd already found a lone specimen, on an aspen sapling at the edge of a glade, but lost it by failing to set up my shot quickly enough: it sprang away with a force that shook the sapling, never to be seen again. So when I saw this pair I worked fast, trying to get some images before their natural disinclination to be loomed over by a potential predator could dampen their ardour. A certain amount of pushmi-pullyu behaviour went on along the twig, as they failed to agree who was in charge of leading whom to cover, and I took advantage of the confusion and got my shots. When I thanked them and left they were still coupled.

Before I go, may I remind you that Tiny Tuesday has now rolled round again. I hope you'll join the challenge this week, by taking a close-up photo of some small thing or other, and tagging your post TT385. I'll look through all the entries and award my hearts and HMs on Thursday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.