Guinea Pig Zero

By gpzero

Bachelor Food & A Good Read

I am delighted by this, the third of Julia Scheere's books I've read. This one is more cheerful than her previous work and is co-authored by a writer unfamiliar to me. 
Elsie Robinson's reactions to the prevailing patriarchy remind me of women I've researched and should write books about, namely the anarchist freethinkers Voltairine de Cleyre and Ida C. Craddock. Robinson, like those others, discarded the prevailing religious beliefs of their origins as they evolved into the public intellectuals they became as adults. 
I'm half-way through the book and Elsie takes the cake with her stint as a grunt worker in a gold mine, no less, in a tiny desert town in California. 

My efforts in the kitchen turned out a fair meal of pork tenderloin and "ad hoc quiche." 

All good!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.