hpx

By hpx

Dry feet

He's light on his feet and I wouldn't expect anything but dry feet. Ken is one of my tramping mates. We always have good conversations and he laughs at my jokes.

A Banks Peninsula tramp isn't my usual fare. I got through a lot of stuff yesterday and didn't have anything needing urgent attention, so off I went.

I'd forgotten that the peninsula has heaps of the poisonous native Ongaonga tree nettle plant. Fortunately I managed to keep well clear of it. I know from experience that it makes me pretty sick if I accidentally grab it or brush against it. It can kill people, dogs, and horses.

There's lots of recent slips from winter storms. The lee of high ridges and banks have snow patches from last week's southerly storm. I had a different kind of fun to my usual sub-alpine or alpine fun.

Today's gratitude: For a different kind of experience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.