Frinton

Harwich for the continent, Frinton for the incontinent

I was here for a funeral, an old friend from more than 40 years ago. That's three funerals and a wedding this year; it's not at all like the film with Hugh Grant. 

It was nice to see that Malc had found his tribe and people stood up to share memories of him. I didn't, they would have been a little discordant after the pastor had run through his life and described the time that I knew him as being "a descent into alcohol and drugs"; I think he over-egged the pudding but I wasn't there as a witness for the defence. Malc found solace in Christian fellowship. I don't think that we need to share someone's beliefs to respect them - his faith meant a great deal to him and that's fine by me. But I've probably had as much church this year as I need, so I hope that I don't get invited to any more funerals for a good long while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.