Drookit Friday

 
I don’t generally believe in conspiracies, but today was one of those days when I have to wonder. 
I trudged over Bruntsfield Links at 10am suitably dressed for the light rain falling to rendezvous with a friend at the Black Ivy Hotel which is next door to the Bike Coop where my Brompton had rested overnight in the hope it would have its free modification at first light thereby enabling me to cycle back home with it. So far so good for the planning- I even had my helmet with me.
The rain stopped at some point and the sun shone all the time my friend and I spent chatting. When I left  to collect the bike I found  it hadn’t been attended to, although give them an hour and it would be ready, they said. 

I couldn’t be bothered hanging about in Bruntsfield for another hour and with the sun continuing to shine brightly I thought I would walk home and await a message telling me the bike could be collected. 
No sooner home than the message came and I decided to double back and collect it . That was the big timing mistake . No sooner had I left the house wearing my fair weather gear, than the sun disappeared and heavens decided to open, gently at first but then with greater intent such that the heaviest prolonged shower of the day occurred as I set off back from the Bikeshop atop the bike.  We arrived home through the potholes, puddles and rain absolutely drookit,  but no sooner had I dried off the Brompton than the rain stopped and the sun has been out ever since. 

In reality, no conspiracy, just unfortunate timing, very unfortunate timing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.