Crumbling ideologies

I had booked today off and spent the morning catching up on some work from yesterday and then ended up having a walk.

In between, the chair saga continues...

My friend had recalled a place in Kendal that might be worth a try ... I checked online ... yep ... looked good ... off I went ...

I was enthusiastically and slightly wildly beckoned into the store by a young man who I was to later discover was called Benjamin. He asked how he could help and I said I had a chair to donate. He rushed off out the back for his mentor and they came out to have a look. I could tell Benjamin’s mentor fell in love with it almost instantly and within a few minutes he was explaining to a very enthusiastic Benjamin how he would show him how to fix the joint and all about patina and inlay. They were both very enthusiastic and seemed to love it and the chance to fix it back to its full glory. At last ... I had found the right spot. I was ready to cry.
Just then, another man appeared, presumably the manager, and said, ‘no’ and that they had too much on ... and then disappeared as quickly as he had come out to rain on all our enthusiasm. Benjamin and his mentor both looked rather crestfallen and were very apologetic ... and I was ready to cry.
I headed back and stopped in a lay-by to ring another place, further away, which again describes itself as a project where furniture in need of repair is used to teach skills and then it’ is sold on to fund the project. Nope, they don’t actually seem to do what they advertise either.

I got out to stomp and cry my way up towards Whinfell and then dropped down to walk back along Borrowdale.

Once home I decided to seal the deal by contacting my old landlord again, seeing as he can’t be bothered to contact me, to remind him of the landlord’s obligation to return the deposit within 10 days, not 10 months.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.