a w a y

By PoWWow

Ride to the slopes : t i c k

I wondered if my friend was a bit exasperated with me, as I stubbornly persevered with my dream to ride to the slopes. As we were mucking about trying to fit snowboards on backs, developing systems so they wouldn't grind on the back wheel and wrapped our many thermal layers around shoulders and handlbars whilst hanging heavy snow boots to our already laden bags, Karmel said;

"There's noone else I'd do this for" and just as I smugly heaved myself + my own unusual concoction of baggage to my bicycle, she added; "

...actually, noone else would ask me to do this". And with that, we cackled our way out into the boiling morning, a few faffed about hours later than intended.

"What a funny little pair we are"

Karmel says as we pull in for our first stop, to check that our death traps were holding up OK, so of course we had to document our much imagined commute to the Flegere mountain range : today's picture.

Even though K's shoulder popped out of socket on a steep drag life I accidentally took us on [really sorry about that] we still had a completely brilliant day of sliding in the red hot sun. Of course we took quite a few elongated chatty coffee breaks and enjoyed a smingey picnic from last night's feasting, but still found some time to practise our new slow 'chopper' tricks on the slushed up nursery slopes to ease our day of riding to a close nicely [finished off with another coffee in the dying sun].

I was kind of fearing the uphill ride home, what with a day's riding fatigue behind us fused with some evident sunstroke and coffee induced dehydration, I wondered if we were about to fall out again. Turns out though, it works wonders to fear a ride- not to mention the wrath of my pal, to arrive at a pleasant surprise. It was OK! Steam might've been coming out of our ears but we slowly chugged our way back up that winding road towards a far more handsome gradient, even finding some melting snow showers coming off the avalanche tunnel to indulge in an outrageously refreshing impromptu shower stop. Slightly delerious + swaying in our pedals, we weaved our way along a silent road smirking; "It kind of feels like Into The Wild, gone wrong"

Cold beers followed at The Trailer Park with our good friends , with Czech canapés made by Marie + some salty nuts to perfectly wish the sun well on its departure from the valley. We made sweet wedges + a ginormous crispy salad back at the wooden box flat + invited everyone back for wine + games.
Days don't get much better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.