and still they come

I’ve received three text messages from the health centre over the past couple of days, asking me not to arrive for my Flu jab before my appointed time.  When I get there - about 2 minutes before - I understand why.  There’s a queue.

I walk past, turn the corner, see a mass of faces watching me, carry on to the next corner, still more faces - and eventually take my place at the back of the queue.  I estimate there must be 60 - 70 people in front of me.  Possibly more.

A few mumbles of discontent, but mostly good-natured stoicism.  It’s hardly the fault of the staff. 

Eventually I reach the front door and, because I’m able, I’m directed to a clinic upstairs, rather than one on the ground floor.  At the top of the stairs I join another queue snaking its way through the building.  

And then it all happens very quickly.  Jacket off, sleeve rolled up and I’m in and out it what seems a matter of seconds.  

I’m shown out through a door at the back of the building and find myself at the very point where I joined the queue, some 45 minutes earlier.  And where people are still queuing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.