Jupiter

It had been forecast to be fine and sunny this morning, so I had arranged to go to Jacqui's to cut her lawn. But the forecast was wrong again, and we woke to heavy rain. It eased off a little before I walked the short distance to her house but, even so, I got soaked! We enjoyed a coffee, and when I left he sun was making an appearance.

After MrM had left this evening for music practice with Lucy C, I remembered that I'd put some washing into the machine earlier in the day, and went down to fetch it. Glancing through the downstairs window I noticed a very bright star, and consulted a star-gazing app which informed me that it's Jupiter. Didn't have a Blip by then, so took the camera outside. Through the camera lens at 60x magnification, three of its 79 moons are visible. It's a fuzzy shot even using the tripod! Seems it's not that easy to get a clear shot over the rooftops whilst avoiding several telephone/power wires, in a gusty breeze...

Looking back, I blipped Jupiter and three of its moons back in June 2019. Seems that only 67 of its moons had been discovered then

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.