a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Keeping a lookout

A female stonechat spotted on this afternoon's gentle and rather slow walk.  I was a little too far away for this lens, but it is much lighter than the 800mm that I would ideally have wanted to use.  Even so with a bit of a crop there's enough detail to be be able to confirm the bird's identity.   

I was pretty sure that this was a stonechat from the bird's behaviour, sitting on the top of the hedge and then occasionally darting down to the ground to gobble up whatever luckless insect it had spotted.  But without also carrying binoculars and the pocket field guide its often not easy for me to be definitive when out and about, although I'm definitely improving with practice.

I've added an extra of the stonechat in flight, although truth be told the bird is much too small in the frame.  But it was nice to achieve the shot even so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.