Mushroom practice shots

Next weekend, I'll be the guide for an autumn photography weekend in the Veluwe area. Mushroom photography is on the menu and that's an area well outside of my comfort zone. To prepare for the weekend, I read up on the techniques to use and this morning I went into the woods to try to capture some mushrooms.

I'm not entirely satisfied, but I guess that's mostly because I don't have a macro lens and I was using extension tubes to get the shots. They are really unforgiving when it comes to focus. Even at f/16, I wasn't able to get all the mushrooms in focus. Now that I know this, I guess I could take multiple shots and do focus stacking.

I used a tiny light to somewhat backlight the mushrooms and I must say I rather like the effect that is giving. For this shot, I also used a light to light up the mushrooms from above. I think this nicely separates them from the background.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.