Spider Alert

I decide to tidy out the garden shed today and found this beauty among some bags of compost. I was able to coax it in to a red box to get a suitably blood coloured red background, whereupon it discovered another just the same. 
It didn't seem to be love at first sight as they kept running away from each other in their frantic efforts to escape.  After a few minutes of captivity one spider clambered on top of the other and used the height gained to launch itself over the side of the box.  I wonder if that was an  intelligent escape plan or just a lucky break. 
Anyway after I had  taken some photos of them I tipped them out over the back fence into the field. I hope they have gone off in search of a new home. 
This one has got a semi amputated leg I notice. It doesn't seem to hamper it.
I've googled spiders but am not confident that I can identify the species. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.