The Longest Day

It was my first day at my new job and it didn’t go well. After an hour spent in the foyer waiting for someone to collect me, I was assigned a reluctant ‘buddy’ who made it quite clear she was not at all happy to have to waste her time showing me round. I was then given 4 documents to read on the computer, one of which was 179 pages long. No one told me when to go to lunch, they all just disappeared so I had none. I spent about an hour in a classroom before home time. It seems that these students need a lot more support than I was expecting, including ‘personal care’ which I definitely didn’t sign up for. This includes using a winch to lift them onto the loo and a special wipe down bed to change them and clean them up. I was led to believe that I would be helping them with English and Maths. I’ve told the agency that I’ll finish the week but that’s it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.