La vida de Annie

By Annie

Árbol Mano de buda

For mono Monday, a pic of my little Hand of Budha tree. Relevant today because I took friend L to a tooth extraction dental appointment, which she was dreading as has had bad experience of UK dentists previously. She was convinced she’d either faint or emerge a gibbering wreck, so I did what I could to calm her, with my careful old-lady driving and quietly playing some soothing reiki music. She understood that to give her a treatment would mean taking my hands off the wheel, so I just radiated good vibes at her instead. The practice of young dentists has been good for me when I had a wisdom tooth out (I’m clearly wise enough), and they were equally professional and gently reassuring on this occasion too. She came out smiling (lopsidedly), proud of herself for not freaking out, and full of praise for Spanish dentistry. On the way back to the car I felt drawn to a shop with Buddha carvings in the window, and went in, to see the greatest number and most varied of Buddha statues and plaques I’ve ever seen, all beautifully handcarved and polished in different woods. The prices reflected the quality, so I didn’t buy anything, but inside that store felt like a haven of peace and spirituality. If I ever win the lottery I’ll be back to get a stonking great big one. Note to self - must do the lottery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.