A Question of Style

I've been working most of the day, progress slow but steady, and have to keep at it this evening. I popped out this afternoon for a few hours to watch Roam play for the thirds against his old club, Olicanians, where he picked up a couple of wickets and they took an easy win.

Walking down to the club via the river I came up behind this young couple sauntering along and couldn't resist a candid shot. I normally don't like to poke fun or be in any way disrespectful with my street shots but I'm making an exception today. The shot is really quite anonymous anyway.

I try not to be a fuddy-duddy, but in what possible universe can it be attractive or even vaguely comfortable to wear your trousers this low? They got lower too, before he pulled them up. At the same time that young men seem very disinclined to wear shorts in summer and reveal a bit of calf and show their knees, so they seem more than eager to reveal their brand of underpants and show a bit of bum cleavage. Am I completely out of kilter with the norms of modern fashion? Is this supposed to be sexy? Is this how he acquired his very attractive girlfriend?

Anyone care to enlighten me?

PS I did somehow manage to control the almost irresistible urge to grab his jeans from behind and pull them up for him!

PPS The forecast evening sunshine never showed up here (despite appearance in this shot it has been overcast almost all day), but it's still set to be a lovely day tomorrow. Fingers crossed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.