Living in Brabant

By AilsaR

Freiheit

I visited the local Synagogue today, I've cycled/walked past it so many times, and wanted to take a peek, but it's never been open.
Today was the (liberation) day.

A man was singing, the acoustics were sublime, his accordion accompanist played staccato, tik, tik, tik, in time with the rhythm of the vocalist. Afterwards, a standing ovation. Deserved.

After that, a seminar, what it was like to live in occupied Netherlands during WWII.

To my pleasant surprise, I bumped into an ex-colleague, a volunteer for the day.
She introduced me to Edquar, a flamboyant character, his immaculate silver-grey beard, combed into a point, his silver hair in a ponytail, his Kippa, silky, silvery-white. Shirt and tie, co-ordinated. And a stud in his ear. Silver, of course.

I cycled home afterwards, dumped my heavy bag and went off on a long cycle ride.

[Edited]. Taking a photography break for a while, see you on the blip side! X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.