HareBrain

By HareBrain

Beady Eyes

Peeping through a mask of Nature’s tiny jewels for TinyTuesday, thanks to Jill (JDO) for hosting.

I was supposed to be taking my good friend Liz to Shrewsbury today to visit our favourite Yarn Shop, Ewe&Ply, which has recently opened again.  Liz is knitting a jumper in the round but needs more wool for it and I need a set of DPNS to start knitting my Fair Isle Kep/Beret.  I had the yarn delivered in between one of the early lockdowns but didn’t start it just because I hadn’t got the right needles but more that I was scared of embarking on knitting with 6 different colours in a proper Fair Isle style, which is a lot different to knitting colourwork with just two colours, but which I mastered with my Sheepish waistcoat, oh and also because blippers Poppy and LadyFindhorn, the Fair Isle goddesses live too far away to help me!! .........  but  now there’s a third reason as Liz phoned first thing  to say that her new Oncology medication is not agreeing with her and she is quite poorly, so could we postpone our day out until another time.  So I’m off the hook again!!

Anyway, as Mr HB’s car is in the garage today for the expensive work to be done it is fortuitous that I have my car and as it’s another glorious Autumn day I drove him to the flying field and stayed there for a little while until the mist cleared.  Whilst he was flying I had a walk round the fields and enjoyed the peace and quiet, the sun on my face, and lots of birdsong, I even heard a Woodpecker drumming somewhere and loved all the sparkles everywhere as the sun shone on the dew.
On the way home I went to check on ‘Matilda’ (caravan) and for a lot of the way a Kestrel flew inches off the road right in front of me until it got fed up, or its prey had vanished and he flew high up in a tree.  Once at the caravan I pulled all the blinds up to let that gorgeous sun in and had half an hour’s relax listening to ‘You and Yours’ on Radio 4 which was full of helpful hints on how to save on the energy we use, etc.  Very interesting and enlightening it was too.  Once home I had a bowl of that delicious Sweet Potato, ginger and coconut soup blipper Damnonii shared with us.  Now writing a menu for the coming week and a shopping list after which I will be off back to the flying field to pick up Mr HB and then go shopping.

Fingers crossed that later on today we will hear if his car is fixed and we can go and get it – not looking forward to the bill though.

Latest news:  the car’s fixed and sounds an awful lot better now, meanwhile our wallets are considerably lighter, ugh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.