Kirkwall

Après le deluge, and yesterday’s leak, ‘encouraged’ by the Current Mrs Creel, I spent some time up on the flat roof of eternity.  After yesterday’s leeks I also spent some time sorting through onions which have come in from the polytunnel of sensibility.  Meantime CMC had vamoosed.
Before I had time to transmogrify I was whisked through to Kirkwall by my s-i-l and niece (home from the Silver City) for lunch.  We met CMC! 
 
Post prandial at HQ I caught up with news about Methil evening classes from Fenella.  The only sensible thing to do therefore was to award myself the rest of the day off.  In an outstanding display of temerity I even informed CMC.
 
When Dervla Murphy says ‘Courage, patience, erudition and a sympathetic imagination’ you should listen.  So she says of Sophy Roberts.  I am currently captivated by her writings in searching for ‘The Lost Pianos of Siberia’, q.v. especially entranced by the passage dealing with Harbin – ‘the Moscow of the East’.
 
I think SR needs to take on the thronging bazaars of Kirkwall.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.