Now we have everything

By Gembop

Piling on the ounces

Today we had our final midwife visit. Charlie is now back over his birth weight - up to 3.1kg (he was 2.9 when born). She was happy with his colour, skin and our progress on feeding.

Charlie has got his first pimple. Thankfully my 'Week by Week' book led me to expect them but it's still sad to see them on his perfect little face. Apparently my hormones are to blame! The midwife backed this up and also suggested I put some olive oil on some of the his dry skin patches.

She asked whether we'd got him registered at the doctors yet (no) or booked his birth registration appointment (no). Whoops! We agreed to sort it ASAP and so she was happy to discharge us from Midwife care. We're to expect a health visitor on Tuesday.

She then took my green book! The pregnancy record that I've carried with me for 9 months. I wish I knew she was taking it, I would've scanned or took a picture of some of the info. It had so much info in - everything from time from incision to birth (10 minutes) and from birth to his first feed (1 hour 40 minutes). Apparently I lost 500ml of blood during the operation. Call me odd but I loved knowing all of that.

Robin's friend Dave came round for a short visit later in the day too. He gave Charlie a lovely present and gave us a thoughtful gift too - some newspapers from the day Charlie was born. I'll definitely use them for something crafty in the future. Now I just need to think about what...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.