Danksound's Musing

By Danksound

The Bird in Hand

History here.

I used to go to this pub occasionally when my daughter was small as it had a garden and tables outside at the back of the pub. My neighbours who lived in the flat below me at the time had two children and our two families used to go together.

There was an extension built on the side after the pub closed so I believe someone lives in it and upstairs above the pub but apparently there is no building permission for this and the pub itself is still empty after many years.

The flood mentioned in the article was bad and the pub and all the basement flats over the road were flooded too as the river underneath the road rose and rose in a matter of minutes. The sign about the flood on the pub was removed and I think people forgot but the flooding recently a few months ago wrecked several of basements again. Poor tenants who bought them from the council all those years ago.

Liz Truss resigns and about time too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.