Living in Manchester

By Theboysmum

Manchester's Water Palace!

backblipped

That is how Victoria Baths was described by the Mayor of Manchester when they were opened in 1906.
The building containes three pools (1st class male, 2nd class male and female) and a Turkish baths.
Closed in 1992 and subject to a restoration that started in 2007 and is still ongoing this building is FABULOUS and I love it.
When a student I used the Turkish baths and the pool and have many happy memories of this wonderful place.
Check out the tiles and mosaic floor - to die for!!!!!

Today Jeff and I went to see a production of 'Twelfth Night' that was staged in one of the (empty) pools. It sounds odd but was very, very good.

It was so difficult to pick a photo for my backblip that I put a few more on my Blipfolio.

This evening we took a walk by the pond at dusk to see the Bats (the animals not the cricket ones).
What a wonderful day we have had.

I am still unable to comment on this horrid laptop so sorry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.