So much change

During my life time I have witnessed many changes. Some have been personal,
such as getting married or burying my parents. Others communal, such as
living through the era we euphemistically call "the Troubles".

Some have been dramatic, such as the tearing down of the Berlin wall. Others
have been more gradual, creating better social conditions - like the
improving attitudes to women in society. When I was growing up, many of the
events that would change my life were relayed to me by parents, teachers,
newspapers or the BBC news bulletins. I received knowledge after the event
from another person. Now, things have changed. As decades have advanced and
technologies improve, I have been able to watch live streaming of many
events which have marked times of significant change in our world. Now, I
observe the change, first hand, watching every move on screen as history is
made before my eyes. I watch and create my own narrative of the event from
what I am watching.

I have a confession to make. I am a political animal. Politics is predicated
on change, not all of which has been good. I have lived through 14 Prime
Ministers, from Churchill to Truss and will soon notch up number 15. Some
have overseen changes which made our lives better, while others leave a less
illustrious legacy. In my time engaging with politicians, I can say without
reservation that nothing that has gone before, prepared me for the last few
days of turbulence. I had a front row seat from where I watched the final
days of Liz Trusses' leadership. It was as though I was present at a vigil.

I will never forget the way in which social media tracked her every move,
analysed her body language, parsed her sentences for nuance and made
visceral comments on her competence and personal values. Comment was not
limited to social media but included many people who would be seen as her
fellow travellers. At times I felt like a voyeur as I read the various
observations and watched the Prime Ministers demise right before my eyes.

It is hard to see how all this will work through and normality return. At
such a time it is easy to despair, to worry and become stressed out by the
many prophets of doom that populate social media.

For me, at times like these, I draw on my experience and my faith.
Experience tells me, that life will go on, Autumn will prepare the way for
Winter as it always does. The rhythm of nature is unperturbed by the
frailties of humanity. Faith tells me that God is above my turmoil yet
always available within that turmoil.  To paraphrase the words of David he
leads me to safe and peaceful places from where I can recover and recharge
to face a changed future with the knowledge he is still in control.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.