Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Hornet's nest

I didn't sleep that well after yesterday's meal - probably the consequnce of too much food and wine! But we were up early as we had to go into town for our Covid booster jabs. We arrived early but they weren't busy so we went straight in and had both been vaccinated nearly fifteen minutes before our appointments were even due.

After a chilly start it turned into an absolutely glorious autumn day - 17C and with a cloudless blue sky. We decided to make the most of the weather and went to Castor Hanglands NNR, so that Pete could finish his ongoing invertebrate survey. While he was using the suction sampler to gather insects from the grassland, I wandered round with the camera, mentally reviewing my NVC maps (which I decided needed a few last minute amendments).

On my perambulation I spotted this Hornet's nest high up in a hollow Ash tree. It was still quite busy, with workers in and out almost continuously. I was blown away by the beauty of the construction, which is usually completely hidden. Such a variety of different shades of brown, with beautiful organic curves. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.