Windmill 'De Marsch', Lienden

'De Marsch' = 'de Mars' is not 'The Marsh' but 'The March'.  That's the name of the polder it's supposed to take care of (water levels).  What I think, though, is that this area used to be a marsh.  Old English and Old Dutch were linguistically very closely related, like first cousins.  There's an extra -- a close-up!  I love the birds relaxing on the vanes.

My 300th mill.

It rained hard in the morning.  AW got up ahead and it was the rain that woke me up much later.  In fact, it was so grey I never thought I'd hit the road at all.  By noon, though, it was dry again, and by mid-afternoon, the skies had actually cleared.  While not yet over my disappointments this week, I was feeling much better.  Windmills help me forget my troubles.  It has been that way since I was very young.

AW continued painting in the shed and then left for Friday evening live bridge at Sweed's and Benna's (Lavinia sufficiently recovered), while I did kitchen duties and some MOOCking.  I look forward to finishing this very last one and the Autumn Break will come in handy.  My rash is not yet gone, so I intend to make an appointment with the doctor on Monday, before I run out of cooling gel.  Maybe this isn't caused by stress after all?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.