TheOttawacker

By TheOttawacker

I need ear plugs, but not under the boardwalk

I mean, it seems a fairly obvious solution to a problem. Again I was awake early thanks to the upstairs neighbours, and once again I couldn’t get back to sleep. Nonetheless, I tried valiantly for a couple of hours. I am sure if I had ear plugs, I could manage it easily, so will get off and do my bestest when I head up to Malaga.

Had a message from the Executioners, wanting to know whether they could proceed with booking a colour or not. I carried on the conversation with Mrs. Ottawacker who, rather sensibly, said there was little risk. If I didn’t like it, I could get it changed. If she didn’t like it, she could get me changed. I think that is what was said, but might be mistaken.

Sounds easy when you say it quickly. Went for a quick grocery shop (everything is so reasonably priced: a bottle of Orujo blanco at 6€; three solemillo steaks for 9€; a packet of ginger nuts for 75 cents… Even when you go to bars, including the appalling Pal’s bar I have criticized so much in my mind, you can get a pint for 3€ and a glass of wine for 2.75€. It seems to me, you can do it if you want. I’ve not been here long enough to examine the social structure of the country, and to know whether infrastructure is failing and health care is in crisis and taxes are exorbitantly high, but the country looks in a decent state and is certainly no worse off than Canada or, says he laughingly, the UK. And Malaga has just offered the final three months of public transport free to anyone that bought a monthly pass in August.

So why, then, can Spain do it, and not other places? At a rough estimate (and please bear in mind I am trying to make a point here and may be seeing glasses half full everywhere), in Canada, the Orujo blanco would have cost 35€; the solemillo 20€; and the ginger nuts 3€. A pint is 7€, as is a glass of white wine… there are profits going somewhere, be it to the government or the producers… and yet people are starving.

Still, I heard that twat Johnson is running for PM again. That wanker will fix it, in between parties and wallpaper and sleaze.

Managed to get some writing done, despite everything, and the went out for a late walk along the boardwalk. Was tempted to go under the boardwalk, to see if the song is true, but it was dark, I am a coward, and one should never underestimate the effect that has on my decision making.

Rounded the evening off with a visit to Fran at Chambao Beach. He was swamped, so didn’t stay long.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.