Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

2855. Wee craft project!

Last Christmas I saved some fancy beer cans that Brian had as a present as I thought I’d try and recycle them into something rather than throw them away.

I often help my youngest out with Christmas presents by suggesting simple craft ideas that we can do together so that it keeps his costs for presents to a reasonable level.  this is especially important this year when electricity and food costs are so high.

I suggested knitting a cover for the beer cans after cutting the top away (that took forever and I ruined three other cans doing it with a can opener!) and planting a cactus in each one as these don’t need to be drained that much like any other plant.
I have a bag of buttons so I’m going to sew on some more buttons to make it look a bit prettier.  I’m quite pleased with this first one and now I know how to tape the top in case of any sharp bits left over from taking the top off.  I’ll make three and he can use them for some family members as part of their present.  Last year we painted wooden boxes together and we bought some small soaps and shower gels from the Body Shop to go into them and the girls loved them!  I’m not sure what else we are going to do but I’ll need to think quickly!

I bumped into a fellow Blipper today (Susan1510) after she came up to me in a coffee shop and asked if I was Yana on Blipfoto!  What a wonderful community we have here and it was a delight to speak to her too.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.