A Morning of garden birds

I spent a morning, the first of many, I'm sure, doing bird photography. And for the first time i had decided to use my sea fishing tripod as a bird perch and seed feeder hanger. A decision not taken lightly. I had been sea fishing for forty years before this blasted brain haemorrhage took my ability to walk. Time to find uses for equipment.
The tripod is eight foot tall, so birds are at a safe height from marauding cats. It is also near a hedge, proving a bit of cover from buzzards. I have also put it next to our picnic table, there seed will drop to table and floor, providing extra feeding areas. Goldfinches in particular enjoy feeding in numbers.
I have added three shots of three birds. The Dunnock fed on the table. A fleeting visit, our young dog Millie finding pleasure by eating bird food from under the table and frightening the birds away. I therefore had her removed.
It was lovely to see Father and son Goldfinch out together. I'm sure this was a training exercise. "right son there's the seed, attack when ready" "yeah whatever"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.